top of page

Stained Glass Using StyleTech Transparent Craft Vinyl

StyleTech craft's newest product line is transparent. It is so much fun to work with! It is perfect for using on glassware or windows. It goes alongside our transparent glitter line, just without the sparkle and glitter.

There are 22 colors in the line, with lots of fun, vibrant colors like lemon lime, sunflower, sky blue and tangerine.

I decided to make a stained glass using the new transparent colors. This product is super easy to use, very easy to weed and apply.

What You'll Need:

Piece of glass (I used a "float frame" that I found at Hobby Lobby like this)

StyleTech Craft Transparent Craft Vinyl

The colors I used were: sunflower, orange, pink, sky blue, royal blue, teal, dark teal, magenta, apple green & purple.

StyleTech Craft Vinyl in Matte Black

Transfer Tape

I used a simple "stained glass" design because I wanted to start with something really easy but you can use one more complicated..even one that creates a scene or image! There are lots of options available via the internet or your machine's design store.

Once I settled on a design, I plotted the design using a 3 mil matte black. Then I plotted the rest of the colors I wanted to use. The great thing about stained glass designs that are not a set image...you can get really creative with the colors you use! There are hundreds of possibilities!

Here is just the stained glass design in matte black after I weeded it. Once you have all your colors plotted out, you will need to start adding them to this design, one by one.

Once you have added all the colors you want and all the "holes" are filled in, cover the design in transfer tape. Here is the detail showing the backside of the transparent.

Using the transfer tape, lay your design onto the glass backing and there you have it...your very own stained glass! I decided to do two of them because they were so much fun!!

bottom of page