top of page

Cookies for Santa


When I was a kid, one of my favorite things about Christmas Eve was making cookies to leave for Santa. My mom and I would gather up all the supplies and then bake some fresh peanut butter cookies (my dad told me it was Santa’s favorite) to leave on a plate for Santa. I mean, after all, Santa has a big job and he needs all the energy he can get, right?

This plate is a cute way to make sure Santa knows the cookies on the fireplace are just for him.

I used a mixture of StyleTech transparent glitter (TG) and ultra colors to create Santa.

Santa’s beard & trim on hat: Ultra White

Santa’s hat & nose: Red TG

Holly on Santa’s hat: Ultra Green

Santa’s eyes: Sky Blue TG

Lettering: TG Red

You will also need some transfer tape to apply everything to the plate.

I bought a cheap plate from a craft store. There are lots of colors and styles available right now during the holiday season. I chose gold to help make the colors of Santa stand out more since using a red or green plate would restrict what I could put on the plate itself.

I found a simple Santa design (less weeding!) and a simple font for the lettering. I plotted out the lettering to correct width and angle of my plate.

I plotted Santa in each of the colors that were going to make up the final Santa (one in Red TG, one in Ultra White, one in Sky Blue TG & one in Green TG).

I weeded out each Santa & picked one to be the “final” Santa. The “final” Santa was based on which color was used the most. In this case, it was the Ultra White used for Santa’s beard and his hat. Using that Santa, I removed anything that was not going to be white in the final product. From the red Santa, I took the hat and placed it on the “final” Santa. Since your plotting machine leaves an outline on the liner, you can use that to help place the pieces onto the final Santa. You continue doing this until you have added all of the pieces from each Santa onto your “final” Santa.

Once you have everything moved and Santa is ready, use some transfer tape to apply the letters and the Santa onto the plate. Since there is such an angle on the plate, I found that it is easier to lay the words individually on the plate rather than together.

If you wanted to personalize the plate more, you could put your kids’ or family name on the bottom.

Ta-da! Now Santa has a special plate for his cookies!

bottom of page